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Media Glossary



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C


CPA

Cost Per Acquisition. Cost to acquire a new customer, for eg: could include your banner advertising costs.
 

CPC

Cost Per Click. The amount paid by an advertiser for a click on their sponsored search listing.
 

CPI

Consumer Price Index. A measure of inflation compiled by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.
 

CPM

Cost Per Thousand. The cost of advertising to reach1,000 people within the target audience. The 'M' is the Roman numeral for one thousand. Using print as an example, CPM is calculated by dividing the advertising cost (cost per insertion) by a publication's circulation or readership(in thousands), ie: CPM =(Advertising Cost/Readership)* 1,000 Example: A magazine reaches 820,000 women aged14+. The cost of a full page colour advertisement in this magazine is $14,550, therefore: CPM = (14,550/ 820,000) * 1,000= $17.74.
 

CTR

Click Through Rate. Frequency of click throughs.
 

Cache

Memory or proxy server (a server that sits between a web browser, for example, and a real server which intercepts all requests to the real server to see if it can fulfill the request itself) used temporarily to store the most frequently requested pages in order to speed delivery to the user.
 

Cancellation Deadline

Is the period outside which airtime may be cancelled without incurring a cost penalty, eg; a 'delete and charge'. Television stations are not obliged to cancel airtime within the stated cancellation deadline, however may do so with, or without, penalty depending on the circumstances involved. The cancellation deadline on television is usually 6-10weeks from air-date. Similar rules apply to the cancellation of magazine and newspaper advertising. However, the period prior to the appearance date when the advertisement can be cancelled varies from 1 to 8 weeks, depending on the frequency and print process of the publication.
 

Ccm

Column centimetres.
 

Circulation

The total net paid sales of a specific publication. Most publications in Australia have their circulations independently audited by either the Audit Bureau of Circulations(ABC) or the Circulations Audit Board (CAB). Circulations of non-audited publications are reported as "Publisher's Claim".
 

Classified advertising

Advertising which is particularly common in newspapers, online and other periodicals. Classified advertising differs from standard advertising or business models in that it allows private individuals (not simply companies or corporate entities) to solicit sales for products and services.
 

Click Through

When a user interacts with an advertisement and clicks through to the advertiser's website.
 

Clutter

A term used to describe the phenomenon of a marketplace being full or even overcrowded with products. It also refers to the extreme amount of advertising the average consumer sees in their daily lives.
 

Commission

A percentage of an advertising rate paid to an approved booking agency by the media for booking an advertisement. It is usually 10%in Australia.
 

Contextual Advertising

Advertising text links that are targeted to the content on the web page being viewed by a user at a specific time.
 

Conversion Rate

Measure of success of an online ad.
 

Cookie

The most common meaning of "cookie" on the Internet refers to a piece of information sent by a Web Server to a Web Browser that the Browser software is expected to save and to send back to the Server whenever the browser makes additional requests from the Server. Cookies might contain information such as login or registration information, online "shopping cart" information, user preferences, etc.
 

Copy Close

In print media is the date set by a publication for receipt of material for an advertisement to appear in a forthcoming issue. Copy close is also referred to as material deadline.
 

Cost Efficiency

The relationship between a medium's(or a media schedule's) audience and the cost of using that medium (or media schedule)to reach a specific audience. For broadcast media, 'Cost Per TARP' (CPT) is the most common measure of cost efficiency. For print, 'Cost per Thousand' (CPM)? circulation or readership ?is most often used to measure cost efficiency.
 

Cover Date

Refers to the date of publication of a magazine as noted on the front cover. The cover date may be quite different to the on-sale date which is usually the date that a particular issue of a publication appears on the news stands.
 

Cover Price

Normal retail price of magazine or newspaper.
 

Coverage

At its simplest means the geographic extent of a medium within an area. 'Coverage' is also used to describe the extent of a medium reach into a particular target group. The term 'coverage' is also used to describe the performance of an advertising schedule. This means the proportion of the target audience having an opportunity to see the advertisement.
 

Cross Media Ownership

Ownership by a single entity of more than one communications vehicle in a given market.
 

Cross-platform

A media offering which straddles a number of different communication vehicles.
 


D


DVR

Digital video recorder(DVR) or personal video recorder(PVR) is a device that records video in a digital format to a disk drive or other medium. The term includes stand-alone set-top boxes and software for personal computers which enables video capture and playback to and from disk.
 

Database Marketing

Customer information, stored in an electronic database, used for targeting marketing activities. Information can be what is collected from previous customer interactions and what is available from outside sources. Databases are now regulated, e.g. customer permissions are required. See also customer relationship management marketing (CRM).
 

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